Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Meet beautiful Nicole! Nicole was such a sweetheart! She was so excited about the shoot and because she was able to wear the gorgeous dress she had only worn once 🙂 She wanted to show off her scars…I asked  her if she wanted me to photoshop them and she said “No, they don’t bother me!” Truly what a strong beautiful woman she is! Here’s her story:

Hello, my name is Nicole Trotter I am 30 years old and I am a cancer survivor. I was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma in September of 1996.  Who would of thought? One day out of the blue I was sitting at work and all of a sudden I could not breathe. I started to panic so my friend rushed me to the ER.  I got called back right away and doctors and nurses started running test. They gave me blood test, chest X-rays and CT scans etc. In all this time and running of test I was not prepared for the results. They said my red or white blood cells were not where they should be.  A while later they said I may have cancer but couldn’t confirm until a biopsy was done. I had an irregular heart beat and it needed to be monitored so they checked me in as inpatient to have more tests and a biopsy preformed. After a week in the hospital I left with the news that yes I had CANCER. Apparently it’s the best cancer to have because it’s curable. Woohoo. I’m thankful for my parents because like many single parents they have no help. But I had a great family. My mom and dad raised my daughter through my treatments. I have had many treatments. I did six months of chemo which took place every other Friday. After that I went into my first remission. But that didn’t last long and the cancer came back. My doctor decided to do a stem cell transplant using my cells. I had some more chemo. Stronger than before. It killed everything inside of me. I was hospitalized for over 20 days with limited visitors. I didn’t get to see my daughter and that hurt the most. After that was done I went into remission again and then about 15 months later my cancer came back again. I then had to do 11 weeks of radiation everyday on my lunch break. That was rough but I had to work for my insurance. I then went into remission for a third time. I was happy, thought I was done with cancer. But oh no it came back AGAIN. Why me? But I said to myself “you can beat this no matter how many times it comes back”. So my doctor recommended a new chemo. This chemo was no joke. I had to have treatments once a month for 6 months. The chemo would last for about 6 hour’s day for 5 days. The drugs I got put me in the hospital 2 times and I fainted 3 times. Needless to say I was glad when this chemo was over. Now it’s been almost 2 years in remission and I couldn’t be happier. I got through this by telling myself “God will not give me anything I can’t handle”. I believed that. I still believe that. This is God’s plan for me. I got through cancer because I had the support of my family and friends. I have my daughter to fight for. So this is my story and this is my life. I want to share my story with whoever wants to hear it. Maybe my story can help someone else. I’m a cancer survivor and I’m proud.

 

ni ni1 ni2 ni3 ni4 ni5