Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Where do I begin! I hold this lady and her family dear to my heart! I met Netis a couple of years ago…when I first had started my photography venture. Her sister is a friend of mine, and I found out that she was diagnosed with breast cancer. I honestly didn’t know what to do or say to my friend. I sent her a text and told her I would like to gift her family a free photo shoot. They were so so appreciative. Their mother is a lovely strong woman and these girls are her pride and joy! I was so happy to be able to take pictures for them! It just made feel good to be able to gift them something beautiful during a difficult time. If it wasn’t for these gorgeous ladies I would have never known about the wonderful organization called Singleton Moms. Thank you so much for allowing me into your lives! You all mean so much to me! Love you all! Here is Netis’s story:

I was 29 and it was 2006. I had three beautiful boys and was a single mom. I was working hard and feeling good. I was done having kids and decided to get breast implants for cosmetic purposes. Three months after my breast augmentation I went to an annual woman’s check up and asked the doctor to check on a lump I had felt that seemed to be getting bigger. I explained that my aunt had died from Breast Cancer. He told me not to worry because “It was my dad’s side and not my mom’s side of the family.” Two months had passed and I got really sick. I just could not kick it. I finally went to the doctor and they ran blood tests. They thought maybe I had Lupus. The tests came back negative for Lupus so they wanted to run more tests. At this point I told the doctor while you are doing these tests can you also look into this lump on my breast? She agreed and sent me to have it biopsied. It came back cancerous. The doctor later admitted that as soon as she felt the lump she knew it was cancer. I was devastated. I was just 29 years old and had three boys to take care of. I felt as though someone had just sentenced me to death. Cancer is such a scary word and nothing ever good comes from it, right? I later called the doctor who gave me my first exam and told him I had cancer. He said, “You can’t have Breast Cancer you are too young.” I was angry, I knew how old I was and apparently I wasn’t too young because I had CANCER. I decided to have a double mastectomy followed by 6 or 7 reconstruction surgeries and a year of chemo. It was extremely difficult but I had good family support my mother and sister were there for me. I had to fight, I had no choice, and my boys needed me. I was in remission for 3 years things were getting back to “normal” the dark cancer cloud was no longer hanging over my head. My hair had grown back to its normal length and I was working full time.

It was in January of 2011; I went to the ER with sever chest pains. Doctors’ thought it was my heart, chemo treatments have been linked to cause heart problems . I wasn’t too young for cancer maybe I wasn’t too young for a heart attack? They continued to run scans and tests. The doctors told me my not only was my cancer was back but it was bad. It had metastasized to my bones, sternum and spine. Devastation, anger, sadness were just a few of the words to describe how I felt. Could I get through this, my kids, my family, my mother, and sister can they go through this again?

Well it has been two years and I am still here, we all are. Every day is fight for me but one worth fighting. I believe in Mind of Matter and have a strong faith in God.
I know it may all sound bad but my cancer has not been all bad. Because of cancer I have a new outlook on life, I appreciate people, family, time, and every day things a lot more. I live life every day to the fullest. Cancer had brought some amazing people into my life. Every day is a blessing and I will continue to fight with all I have for my sons and the people who have supported me.

Live, Love, Laugh Netis

IMG_0872 IMG_0905 IMG_0908 IMG_0924 IMG_0988 IMG_1004