Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Meet ANGELA! A truly amazing lady! She had been emailing Desiree before the session telling her how nervous she was and she didn’t know what to wear! Desiree told her not to worry about anything that we would take care of it! Desiree knew Angela had had a tough year and just wanted her to feel comfortable! I remember her coming in very shy and timid! I have to give a HUGE shout out to TheBoyz DoHair  and Chik A’la Mode for giving her a new do’ and look! She became an absolutely different person when they cut and styled her hair. She seemed so much more confident and brightened up so much! I was delighted to see her so happy and smiling away! Please scroll down and read her story below 🙂

 

Beautiful YOU, Phoenix, AZ, Cancer, Warriors

Beautiful YOU, Phoenix, AZ, Cancer, Warriors

2014-05-01_0002 2014-05-01_0003 2014-05-01_0004 2014-05-01_0005 2014-05-01_0006

 

 

My name is Angela Harris, and I was diagnosed with Triple Negative breast cancer on September 14, 2012 while I was pregnant with my third child. I was 38 years old at the time of diagnosis and my daughter, Courtney, was 4 years old, and my son, Rocky, Jr. (we call him Li’l Rock), was 19 months old at the time.

The first of several surgeries was performed on September 28, 2012. I was pregnant at the time of diagnosis, so they could not perform a sentinel node biopsy, so we didn’t really know exactly what stage my cancer was in until after the birth of my son on November 9, 2012. The lump when found on September 14, 2012 was 2.4 cm. When the lump was removed on September 27, 2012 it was 2.9 cm.

I started my chemotherapy treatments on October 23, 2012 while I was pregnant. I gave birth to a happy, healthy beautiful baby boy, Mason on November 9, 2012. The doctors induced me a month early so that I would not be so weak for my second chemo treatment on November 27, 2012 or for the upcoming surgeries. On November 19, 2012, I had my second surgery to perform the sentinel node biopsy and remove any suspicious lymph nodes, install the chemo port above my left breast and to remove more tissue from my right breast. As it turns out, 2 lymph nodes were found enlarged and positive for cancer. At this point, the oncologist had informed me that I was Stage 2b, but closer to a Stage 3.

A few months prior to my diagnosis, I had started a new job which I lost as a result of having cancer. I had just bought a new car two weeks prior, which I also lost since I was no longer employed. To add insult to injury, not only were we evicted from our apartment, but the father of my 3 children decided to go a separate way, so the kids and I moved in to my parent’s house, where my caregiver is my 70 year old mother.

I have a really high chance of recurrence within the first 3 years. I still have debilitating bone pain and neuropathy in both arms and legs that prevent me from being able to maintain employment. I have already made it past 1 year, so if I can make it past the next 2 years, then there’s a good chance that the cancer will not recur. I have everything to live for – I have 3 beautiful Angels to enjoy life with and I intend to do so. Thank you for taking time to read my story.